I’m Back….I Think

So I’m going to give this one more shot. I really do want to blog more often about my job, my life, and see if there is any advice or information I can spread to the many communities that I am a part of.

To get the ball rolling, I have to share a fun story. I was just going through some book reviews, starting to create my wish lists for 2014, since I have nothing left in my 2013 budget. For those of you who don’t know, I’m a Children’s Librarian at a fantastic library in Syracuse, NY.

So, I’m going through book reviews, mostly kids stuff, but I enjoy browsing the young adult and adult books (giggle, adult books) as well. I get to this one “adult” book called 1001 Movies You Have to See Before You Die. On the cover is an image from the movieLife of Pi.” Great book, by the way. But the movie….well let’s just say, I got a good nap out of that one. I decided I wanted to find out more about this book, though. I went to of course AMAZON! I love Amazon. I use it multiple times in a day, particularly when a patron is like “The one with the dog on the front cover and the little kid sitting on the ground. What’s the title of that book and where would I find it? Can I put it on hold?” Sure, wait, let me use my cover recognition software, in put that description, and we’ll have your answer….hahahahaha, NOT!

So, anyways, I start skimming through some of the titles that it has listed that you can see in the Amazon preview. And then I really started to wonder something, what are my daughters 1001 Movies to see before she dies going to be? Because if it’s High School Musical, or Radio Rebel, I may put her out of her misery now. I mean, every couple years they come out with these lists, and there’s always the Godfather movies and The Usual Suspects, fantastic movies. But Life of Pi, I don’t know, maybe it’s because I took a nap, but that tiger would’ve taken him out within 5 minutes on that boat. The book was so much better, as it usually is.

But, seriously, what do you think our kids 1001 Movies to See Before They Die is going to be? I hope Tangled is on that list, and Up, those are some good movies. Maybe the Hobbit movies, but I haven’t seen those yet (I know, I have failed in my geekery!).

One thought on “I’m Back….I Think

  1. Movies your daughter should view: Music Man, Sound of Music, Cinderella, Snow White, Dumbo, Bambi, Alice in Wonderland, Lady & the Tramp, Sleeping Beauty, Casablanca, Citizen Kane, Grapes of Wrath, Some LIke it Hot, It’s a Wonderful Life, Gone with the Wind, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, West Side Story, Singin’ in the Rain, Mary Poppins, Pinnocchio, Fantasia…..I know a very smart librarian who was exposed to the classics at a very young age. She benefited greatly from this!

Please Leave Your Thoughts And Comments

